Saturday, January 28, 2023

ECOWAS and the Gambian situation


Must Read

ECOWAS comprises 15 states namely Cape Verde, Senegal, The Gambia, Mali, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Sierra Leone, Liberia, Cote D’Ivoire, Burkina Faso, Ghana, Togo, Benin, Niger and Nigeria. This region has no monarchical system of government. All the countries in ECOWAS are secular democratic republics.

The Gambian election is likely to be followed by the establishment of a two term limit. Hence the political culture of presidency for life will disappear for good in this sub-region. The culture of peaceful transfer of executive power will be dominant.

This is why it is so crucial for the Jammeh administration to ensure a peaceful transfer of executive authority so that pressure will be on Togo to move in the same direction. This will complete the agenda of making West Africa the most advance region in Africa in promoting democracy, the rule of law and good governance. That is why all eyes are on Gambia. Four heads of state have already visited the Gambia. All the heads of state in the sub-region have deliberated on the future of the Gambia. Two are currently assigned to be mediators.

It is therefore anticipated that with the cooperation of the outgoing and incoming presidents of the Gambia, ECOWAS will make history by facilitating the peaceful transfer of political power in The Gambia which has never happened in its history. Success is knocking on the door. Will the stakeholders allow it to come in? The future will tell.


- Advertisement -

Latest News

Witness Testifies on Lama & Kumba Sinyan’s Relationship

By Kemeseng Sanneh (Kexx) A former roommate to the late Lamarana Jallow (deceased) on Thursday, 26th January gave a detailed...
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

People Also Read This