President Faye constitutes cabinet


By Biran Gaye

Senegal’s newly elected president has formed his first government following the appointment of Prime Minister Ousmane Sonko.

In a presidential degree, Prime Minister Sonko revealed Friday, April 5, the composition of his government. This team includes several leaders who supported Head of State Bassirou Diomaye Faye during the presidential election.

General Birama Diop, a former military adviser to the United Nations Secretary-General António Guterres, is the new minister of defense. General Diop had served as Chief of Defence Staff of the Senegalese Armed Forces.

Dr. Mabouba Diagne, the Vice-President of the Finance and Corporate Services of the ECOWAS Bank for Investment and Development (EBID), was also appointed as minister of agriculture. He holds a Ph.D. in Financial Management and Portfolio Optimization from the University of Kaiserslautern, Germany

President Diomaye Faye’s secretary to the cabinet, Professor Mary Teuw Niane once served as minister under Macky Sall, is still renting in Dakar.

In another development following the composition of the new cabinet, the Senegal Feminist Network (RFS) has expressed its “dismay at the low percentage of women” in the new government of President Bassirou Diomaye Faye in a press release.

The network highlighted that women represent only 13.33% of the new government, despite promises of inclusion, equity and social justice. Feminists argued that a parity government would have been possible and desirable considering women constitute half of the Senegalese population, but said this demographic representation is not reflected in decision-making bodies, the statement says.

Senegal has ratified the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights relating to the rights of women in Africa (Maputo) without reservation. These instruments guarantee equitable access for men and women to decision-making.

In the release, the feminists expressed their concern regarding the change in the name of the Ministry of Women, Family, Equity and Community Development to the Ministry of Family and Solidarity, saying the change could lead to infringement of women’s rights.

The Senegal Feminist Network called for clear measures to realize women’s rights and the participation of women at the governmental level for a deepened democracy.

The list of the 25 ministers include  Yassine Fall, Minister of African Integration and Foreign Affairs; General Birame Diop , Minister of the Armed Forces; Ousmane Diagne , Minister of Justice Keeper of the Seals; General Jean Baptiste Tine , Minister of the Interior and Public Security; Birame Souleye Diop , Minister of Energy, Oil and Mines; Abdourahmane Sarr , Minister of the Economy, Planning and Cooperation; Cheikh Diba, Minister of Finance and Budget; Malick Ndiaye , Minister of Infrastructure, Land and Air Transport; Daouda Ngom , Minister of the environment and ecological transition; Amadou Moustapha Ndieck Sarré , Minister of Vocational Training (Government Spokesperson); Cheikh Tidiane Dieye , Minister of Hydraulics and Sanitation; Alioune Sall , Minister of Communication, of telecommunications and digital technology; Elhadj Abdourahmane Diouf , Minister of Higher Education, Research and Innovation; Serigne Gueye Diop , Minister of Industry and Trade; Fatou Diouf , Minister of Fisheries, Maritime and Port Infrastructure Maimouna Dieye , Minister of Family and Solidarity; Yankhoba Diémé , Minister of Labor, Employment and Relations with Institutions ; Balla Moussa Fofana , Minister of Urban Planning, Local Authorities and Regional Planning; Moustapha Guirassy , Minister of National Education; Ibrahima Sy , Minister of Health and Social Action; Olivier Boucal , Minister of the Civil Service and Public Service Reform; Khady Diene Gaye , Minister of Youth, Sports and Culture; Mabouba Diagne , Minister of Agriculture, Food Sovereignty and Livestock; Alioune Dione , Minister of Microfinance, Social and Solidarity Economy; Mountaga Diao , Minister of Tourism and Crafts; and Maimouna Dieye , Minister of Family and Solidarity, and the 5 Secretaries of State are Amadou Chérif Diouf, Secretary of State for Senegalese Abroad; Ibrahima Thiam, Secretary of State for SME Development; Momath Talla Ndao , Secretary of State for Urban Planning and Housing; Alpha Bâ , Secretary of State to cooperatives and peasant supervision; and Bacary Sarr, Secretary of State for Culture, Creative Industries and Historical Heritage.