Togo and The Gambia were the last states that were required to embrace the two term limit. Togo left The Gambia behind in 2019 by having a two term limit of five years.

However a new constitution has been adopted which aims to make it possible for the sitting president to contest another election and if he were to succeed he would serve another six year term. Subsequently all presidents in Togo will only serve one year term of six years.

The situation in Mali, Guinea, Burkina Faso and Niger do not give other states the luxury of resorting to any unconstitutional overstay in power. Senegal has shown a bright example of how term limit could ensure an end to self perpetuating rule which goes with the risk of coup detat. All Ecowas states should therefore introduce term limit as a tool for maintaining political stability and further put an end to selfpertuating rule.

Foroyaa will continue to monitor develoopments in Niger, Mali, Guinea and Burkina Faso on one hand, and The Gambia where the president has promised a referendum for a new constitution by the end of the year.