Legislative Caucus Elects Majority, Minority Leaders


By: Kebba AF Touray

National Assembly caucuses yesterday completed the selection of both Majority and Minority Leaders of the 6th Legislature.

At the climax of the selection, the Office of the Clerk was notified by the United Democratic Party, the party with the second-largest number of seats at the National Assembly, of the selection of leadership for the minority.

According to official results received from the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC), the United Democratic Party (UDP) has the second-largest number of seats.

The Majority or Minority leader is selected or elected by his or her party at a caucus, and following a selection meeting on Tuesday, the minority caucus entrusted its leadership to the following Members: Hon. Alhagie S. Darboe, Member for Brikama North as the Minority Leader; Hon. Madi M.K. Ceesay, Member for Serekunda West as the Deputy Minority Leader, and Hon. Sulayman Saho, Member for Central Badibou as the Chief Whip.

In the same vein, the Majority Leader of the National Assembly has been accordingly selected from the National People’s Party, the party with the largest number of seats at the National Assembly, on Thursday 14th April 2022.

The National People’s Party (NPP) decided the Majority leadership in Parliament as follows: Hon. Billay G. Tunkara, Member for Kantora as the Majority Leader; Hon. Abdoulie Ceesay, Member for Old Yundum as the Deputy Majority Leader, and Hon. Omar Darboe, Member for Upper Niumi as the Chief Whip.
According to the Office of the Clerk, the official results received from the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) indicates that NPP has the highest number of seats.

The inauguration of the Sixth Legislature on Thursday featured the swearing-in of Members of Parliament who were elected on the 9th of April 2022. Honorable Fabakary Tombong Jatta was elected as Speaker and Honorable Seedy SK Njie as Deputy Speaker. The two are among the five members nominated by the President of the Republic. Sitting of the Second Ordinary Session of the 2022 Legislative Year has been adjourned until Monday, the 25th of April 2022.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!