High Court denies Ex GNPC MD bail again


Sarjo Camara Singateh

The Banjul High Court yesterday 30th August 2016 rejected the bail application of the former Managing Director of Gambia Momodou Badjie, former GNPC MDNational Petroleum Company (GNPC) Mr. Momodou O.S Badjie, who is now on trial.

Justice Ogar Edward Eneji, the vacation judge, in his ruling before a jam-packed court room of family members, loved ones and sympathizer, said the bail application made by the counsel of the applicant has no merit and he decided to dismiss it.

He also noted that an earlier application for bail was dismissed by Justice Otaba, at the same high court, so he can only grant bail if he is satisfied with the material evidence before the court. Justice Ogar argued that the previous application made by the counsel of the applicant does not differ much from the current one.

Justice Ogar said even where applications are brought repeatedly that would not change the nature of the court. Citing several cases in The Gambia and other jurisdiction to support his position he reiterated that he has not seen sufficient material evidence before the court that can warrant him to grant the applicant bail, adding that the likeliness for the accused person to jump bail is huge and he cannot be tried in absentia. He stressed that in the previous ruling the court denied the applicant bail because his application did not have sufficient material before the court and the same case has repeated itself.

Sources reveal that Mr. Noah Touray and Mrs. Sira Wally Ndow-Njie would appear today at 1pm and 2pm respectively for the fate of their bail applications.

It could be recall that Mrs. Sira Wally Ndow-Njai together with two other officials of the GNPC namely Noah Touray former Secretary to Cabinet, Mr. Momodou O S Badjie Former Managing Director of Petroleum was denied bail by Justice Otaba of the Special Criminal Division of the High Court.
However, Justice Otaba granted bail to 7 officials of GNPC who are jointly charged with the trio who is refused bail. Those granted bail are Edrissa Mass Jobe, former chair of the board, Cherno Marena, former Solicitor General, Muntanga Momodou Sallah, Former Petroleum Permanent Secretary, Louie Moses Mendy, formerly at President’s Office, Seedy Kanyi, Fafa Sanyang, Former Petroleum Permanent Secretary and Momodou Taal, formerly at the Ministry of Finance.