35 Public health personnel graduate with Masters Degree



35 public health personnel from Gambia and Sierra Leone graduated with Masters Degree on Public health (Health Promotion and Environmental Health) from the Leeds Beckett University, UK.

The graduation event took place on Thursday, 18 March, 2016, at a local hotel in kololi,

Speaking on the occasion Sue Sherwin Head of school Leeds Bucket University of public health, said the grandaunts are the third and final cohort for their delivery in the Gambia, which was started by Professor Rachael Dixey and Mary Green in October 2007.

“The success of our scholars has been supported by the contribution made by our Gambian colleagues and institutions such as the UTG, who have supported our students by acting as dissertation supervisors and reviewing students dissertation proposals on ethics committees and I would like to thank them all for their support,” she noted.

Madam Sherwin revealed that the courses would not have been successful without the support of the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission. She explains that they paid for 21 students for the first cohort, 15 for the second, and then 13 students for the last who are amongst the grandaunts. She commended the National Aids Secretariat for funding the payment of 15 students among the grandaunts.

Chris Spoor Course leader MSc Public health promotion degree, said Leeds Beckett University has been working in the Gambia since 2007, with nearly 100 students studying on public health promotion.

He said among the courses, students developed skills working with communities to improve health and contribute to strengthening the health workforce and the SDGS.

Speaking on behalf of UTG, Ousman Nyang, Deputy vice Chancellor Implored grandaunts to make the best use of what they have learnt while serving their communities.

A similar remark was reiterated by Modou Njai on behalf of the Ministry of health. Njai said the grandaunts will help enhance the workforce in the public and health sector in serving the community.

The vote of thanks was given by Tamsir Cham.