27 Senior Government officials dismissed



A total number of 27 senior officials of the Gambia government have been dismissed from their positions with immediate effect by the President Jammeh, according to an announcement aired over GRTS television in its 10pm news on Tuesday, 5  July 2016.

These senior officials comprised permanent secretaries, deputy permanent secretaries, principal assistant secretaries, senior assistant secretaries, protocol officers, chief drivers, among others.

According to the press release from the Office of the President, these officials are being accused of fraudulently auctioning Gambia government vehicles and other unspecific items, adding that they are currently under investigation. However charges are yet to be brought against them.

The following officials are the ones being affected by the mass dismissal: Yira Jammeh, Senior Assistant Secretary – Ministry of Petroleum, Momodou Saidy Leigh, (SFO) Ministry of Fisheries,
Sanna Gassama, Chief Driver – Ministry of Justice, Fatoumatta Bah, (PO) Ministry of Fisheries, Roheyatou Kah, Deputy Permanent Secretary – Ministry of Petroleum, Dr. Cherno Barry, Permanent Secretary –Ministry of Higher Education, Fafa Sanyang, Permanent Secretary – Ministry of Petroleum, Cherno Njie, (TC) Ministry of Agriculture, Momodou Lamin Jammeh, (SEO) Ministry of Lands,
Bernard Mendy, Director of Protocol – Ministry of Foreign Affairs,
Malang Jammeh, Chief Driver – Ministry of Trade, Abdoulie Jallow, Protocol – Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Aja Fatou Gaye (SDC) Dept of Physical Planning, Abdoulie Jallow, Principal Assistant Secretary-Ministry of Lands and Regional Government, Abdoulie Jallow, Permanent Secretary – Ministry of Finance, Famara Darboe, former Ag. Director – Ministry of Fisheries, Naffie Barry, Permanent Secretary – Ministry of Trade, Lamin Ceesay, Chief Driver – Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Kaideng Sambou, (PO) Ministry of Finance, Jerreh Sanyang, Deputy Permanent Secretary –Ministry of Higher Education, Habib Jarra, Permanent Secretary – Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Tijan Jeng (PO) – Ministry of Information and Communication Infrastructure,
Lamin Sanneh, Permanent Secretary (2) Ministry of Lands, Lamin Camara, Permanent Secretary – Ministry of Information Communication & Infrastructure, Ousainou B. Jorbateh, (DoCV) Ministry of Lands, Aminata Semega-Janneh, Assistant Secretary – Ministry of Trade and Abdoulie Jarra, Permanent Secretary – Ministry of Fisheries.